My Cart

Posted by Tegan McClean

on 08/08/2018

Have you attended CONASTA before? Or wondered what it would be like to attend?

Peter Beveridge from Pennington School R-7 attended CONASTA67 for the first time this year as a Ruth Dircks Scholarship recipient! Pete put together a journal of his notes and experiences at CONASTA so you can get an idea of what it was like to be here to view the full article. 

Monday 9 July 2018

The day begins early with a brisk walk down King St, Newtown to the venue for CONASTA67. There is a hive of activity with delegates and exhibitors all mingling and eager to kick off an exciting three days of learning, engaging, and socialising.

The free coffee provided via an Education Perfect keep cup is an instant winner among the delegates. Upon registration, all delegates receive a satchel packed with promotional material and a very handy water bottle courtesy of Sydney Water.

First up is the Welcome to CONASTA in the Auditorium.

Senator The Honorable Simon Birmingham, Minister for Education has just announced the Government’s initiative to place mandatory STEM teachers in Australian secondary schools. He spoke about the need for our children to build a love and passion for Science and Technology and by having specialist teachers, our students will be better prepared for the world before them.

Dr Tanya Latty spoke about the very interesting quirks and features that some of our smallest neighbours, the ants, have done to develop survival and efficiency. She then went on to talk about slime moulds and how they live everywhere, even within a large city such as Sydney. Definitely need to show the kids these, maybe they won’t bug me to make slime every single day now!...

To read more click here.                                                                                                                                          

The Ruth Dircks Scholarship is an initiative designed to promote the attendance and participation of teachers at CONASTA each year. In 2002, Ruth Dircks was the inaugural winner of the Prime Minister’s Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Secondary Schools and generously donated her prize money to ASTA to promote the attendance and participation of teachers at CONASTA each year.